Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie with questions on stabilizing and leveling

Hi there, awaiting delivery of my first (and new) 5th wheel, Reflection 367BH. Coming from a 28 foot travel trailer (32 with hitch) our set up was pretty easy. Pulled in, leveled side to side with the Anderson Levelers (the red crescent shaped ones you drive on and then chock), level front to rear with power tongue jack, put a BAL x-chock on curbside tires, lay down/stack up some wood pieces (we have 2x6 pieces cut for size) to put under 4 corner scissor stabilizer jacks (stack wood high enough to minimize how far the jacks had to extend), put out slide....and done.

Now, with the wood under the tongue jack and stabilizer jacks as well as the xchock, we had very little motion in the camper. Some, but that is to be expected. I have no experience with setting up a 5th wheel so my questions are:

1. Should I expect a lot of motion in the Reflection using just the 6 point auto levelers? I have been reading about kingpin tripods and the setup stabilizers that attach to the stabilizers....should I be saving up for these or are they not necessary as the 6 point system is stable enough?

2. With the auto leveling system, will I need to level side to side (we camp in campgrounds) and if so do the Anderson levelers work well for this size 5th wheel?

3. Should I still put wood under the landing gear/jacks?

Thanks to all in advance
    Jason
    Currently Springdale 282bhhs travel trailer with 2017 Reflection 367bh on order!!! :cool:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use same procedures if you want. Or, if you're fairly level, pus auto level and watch the machine do its thing!
    2018 Freedom Elite 24FE, 2 Yorkies, and my wife MARILYN, HAM call K0LCB. Traveling around this great country, making friends and seeing lot of beautiful and interesting places

Mentioned
    27 Post(s)