User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Boondocking with a Cpap

I am still new at RVing. I have a 2016 29RS. Will the portable solar panels that plug into the solar plug generate enough power to operate my cpap machine all night? I currently only have the single battery that came with the unit. I would appreciate any guidance that you could give me.

Jim

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Jim and Kathy Van Ostran
    2016 Reflection 29RS
    2019 Ford F350 Diesel
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Without knowing the amphours of your battery and the amp draw of your CPAP device, it's difficult to give you an accurate answer. My personal experience with solar and "boondocking" has been on my sailboat which has a 100 watt panel with two 105ah batteries. I have spent three days at a time relying on just the solar to keep the batteries charged while using two CPAP devices thru an inverter, running a 12v refrigerator part of the time, LED lights in the evening, charging the usually electronic devices(phones, iPad), powering a VHF radio 24/7, plus a couple other minor uses. Even with a couple of cloudy/partly cloudy days, the batteries maintained at least 12.7v. When using the CPAP device under boondocking conditions, if your device has a heated hose and a humidifier, turn both off.

Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Lots of things to consider, and messy details here.
    My CPAP has a box on the power cord that drops the wall volts from 110 down to 24 v. Adaptor cords or battery packs for it are crazy expensive. And of course it means you can't plug it directly in to an RV battery. Look on the label on yours to see what voltage it really takes. If it uses 12v, you're one step simpler/closer. The label or manual should also spec the amps or watts it uses.