Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Solar panels

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Solar panels

I have some questions regarding 12v solar panels. First how are they used? Do they just charge the batteries or are they used for lights and appliances? Where are they wired in? Living in California we get sun most of the year and I was considering using them when the unit is parked to keep the batteries charged. Is anyone doing this or using these panels?
    Horst, Marlene & Jack, Turlock-CA.
    Reflection 303RLS,
    01 Chevy 3500, 6.0L gas, DRW, 4:10 Gears.
    One big giant (140lbs) chocolate lab Jack.

gary.l

Re: Solar panels

My wife and I have been using them for at least 15 years. We got one when we had our Aliner when our camping was at state and national forest campgrounds with no hook-ups and run on battery power only. One night when it got cold we ran the furnace all night and when we got up in the morning the battery was down to 8 volts. It was a sunny morning and the battery was back up to full charge by 11 am. That was with a 15 watt panel. The panels now are up to 160 watts and you can even run small appliances off them with a big enough battery supply and an inverter. They will work on cloudy days but take longer to work. They say they will even work under 1 inch of snow. We plan on getting a new one for our reflection as when we go out west this year some of our camping will be dry.

We asked them at the factory during our tour and they told us that if we had them installed on the roof it would void our roof warranty. We have a frame for it and have it wired with a long 12 gauge wire and can stretch it out to the sunlight.

Here is a useful link and a good site with both info and supplies http://www.solarblvd.com/

Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi Boomer,