User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm Now A Legally Licensed Driver

Bought my Solitude 2016 in February 2016. Never did the dealer say anything about increased license requirements (probably didn't want to kill a sale). Been driving the rig and enjoying it. Last summer, while on our 3500 mile western US tour, I read on Facebook about a need for a license, due to the size of the rig.

California requires additional license based on the GVW of your rig. For rigs 10,001 to 15,000 GVW you need to have the Class A Non-Commercial Recreational Vehicle endorsement (DMV called it a Restriction 41). I had looked and the 2016 Solitude 321 was 15,000 GVW--- YEAH. I looked online and studied the practice questions. For this category you DO NOT need to get a medical exam or take a driving test. When I went to DMV, the first thing the clerk did was hand me a medical exam form for my doctor to certify. I politely explained that I did not need to have the exam or driving test. I had downloaded the appropriate handbook and had it with me. The clerk had to get out 'cheater forms and notes' to make sure the forms were filled out properly and the entries in the computer were correct, so the license would go through. The clerk stated they have very few of these that they have to process. I showed the clerk the requirements for the endorsement. I took the test and passed, with flying colors.

During the process, they asked 4 times what the GVW of my rig. Additionally, I had to sign a statement that the endorsement allowed me to drive vehicles with a 10,001 to 15,000 GVW rig. The clerk explained that in the past, people came back and were upset as they had a 15,001+ GVW rig and DMV allowed them to get the wrong endorsement.