User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New RVers and new to this forum

Hi from Jim and Sandi from Salt Lake City and St. George, UT. We are new RVers but have many friends who have 5th wheels and coachs. We have ordered a Solitude 310GK-R. It has been built at the factory but has been waiting in a lot in Elkhart for transport to Salt Lake City for 10 days. Our dealer said it would be 5 -10 days after build until it reached SLC, but it has been 10 days and it hasn't even left yet. This is very frustrating. I have been reading the forum about problems with new RVs which appear to be many. We will be leaving with our RV for St. George where we have a second home within a couple of days after we pick the unit up. I hope this won't be a problem. I am planning on doing a very thorough inspection at the dealer (have a detailed new RV inspection list) and I am a retired engineer who can fix about anything (my motto is "if I can't fix it, it ain't busted"). We are looking forward to many wonderful days on the road with our new RV. We will be pulling it with a 2017 Ram 2500 Heavy Duty. From what I have seen so far, this site is a treasure trove of information which can be very useful.

King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hi Jim and Sandi. Welcome. I know it's frustrating waiting on delivery. About a month ago, we were having some work done on our trailer at the Grand Design facility in Indiana. They have a campground out front for people waiting on repairs. Right next to the campground, there was a lot with literally hundreds of completed units waiting on delivery. Delivery drivers were picking them up at all hours of the day, even on the weekend. I sure wouldn't want to be the poor employees that have to coordinate the delivery schedules. I'm sure they have some kind of priority process and yours will be hitting the road soon.