User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Site Team
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

You go through training, you learn it all...and then.

Let me start with - I am a licensed Commercial Truck Driver with all the endorsements. I know better... But:

Last week, I did my yearly hitch maintenance, including pulling the head from the hitch and lubing it up. I put it back on, there were no issues. I was hitching up for our trip to the lake, and backed into the bed, got out, check and adjusted clearance to the hitch, and backed in. I heard the familiar CLUNK as I backed into the hitch...but something wasn't right. I got out, looked at the hitch, the lever was closed, and I put the safety pin into it. I walked to the back, inserted the plug, and closed the tailgate. I went to the control panel and retracted my gear. Turned on the headlights, and flashers, and did my safety walk around. Everything checked out. Lugs, lights, steps, latches...all good. We got in the truck, started to pull away, and WHAM!!!

The Pin Box crushed my tailgate.

What did I do wrong? I didn't hear the right sound from the hitch as it closed. You know what it is supposed to sound like for your hitch. I do for mine. Hundreds of times I have done it. I ignored a warning flag. I did not tug test the connection once I thought it was secure. Thirdly, when I put the umbilical cord into the bed, before I closed the tailgate, I did not look to see if my jaws were closed around the king pin.

Why did I miss it? I got complacent. My B&W hitch is a rock star. It never fails, and it didn't this time either. When I did my hitch maintenance, I did something I never do; I closed the jaws as I put the head back on and fastened it. I always leave the jaws open. Except the time I didn't.

I hope this helps.
    Chris
    Chris Tretta
    Albuquerque, NM

2013 Ram 3500 Megacab 4x4 6.7L Cummins
    2019 Grand Design 385GK
    2014 Grand Design 369RL - Sold