Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hot Water Heater Flush

Morning everyone,

My wife and I have been full-timing in a 2018 337RLS for three months and I'm wondering if it is necessary to flush the hot water heater.

It works fine and we do not have any odors or any other issues.

I'm thinking since we use it constantly it should be ok. Not being lazy just looking at from a necessity perspective.

Thanks!

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jrobertson8746 View Post
    Morning everyone,

My wife and I have been full-timing in a 2018 337RLS for three months and I'm wondering if it is necessary to flush the hot water heater.

It works fine and we do not have any odors or any other issues.

I'm thinking since we use it constantly it should be ok. Not being lazy just looking at from a necessity perspective.

Thanks!
    We've fulltimed for 4 years and I flush mine every 5-6 months and replace the anode rod. Suburban heaters (which I have) use anode rods - the Atwoods do not. Since I typically sanitize my plumbing system twice a year, I usually do it at the same time.

Alan
    Alan and Kathleen
    2015 Momentum 380TH (RVD2)
    2014 Ford F350 Dually (Stormtrooper)
    2012 Honda Goldwing Navi/ABS (Land Speeder)

Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is just my opinion, unless it’s been sitting for a lengthy period, it doesn’t need to be flushed often. I would consider maybe once every 12-18 months. No matter what you do, there’s gonna be some water remaining in the tank when you’re done. I’m not even sure the flush techniques I’m aware of get everything out that may be on the bottom.
    Steve & Sue (pups:Sky & Sierra) Gardnerville, Nv
    2017 Refelection 297RSTS
    2017 Ford 350 CC 4x4 Lariat Superduty 6.7, Long Bed

Big Traveler
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)