User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hitch weight spec on momentum info sheet question

On the "Vehicle Weight Information Sheet" that came with our new Momentum 349M it lists hitch weight at 3070 lbs. Is this just an estimate of hitch weight of the the trailer unloaded?

I think we may be screwed. We are complete newbies. Our research consisted of asking the dealers questions about towing capabilities. After choosing the 349M as the trailer we wanted both the RV dealer and the Ford dealer assured us the F350 SRW Lariat 4X4 crew cab styleside 6.7L diesel would be plenty for towing that trailer.

As I am researching more I figured out today the truck's payload is 3052 lbs so we have exceeded payload without any passengers and with an unloaded trailer.

Also the RV dealer assured us the 349M would take our RZR 900 4 seater with no problem. "That's what they made these for" he said. Well it fits all right but I'm now thinking its going to push us over the trailers Gvwr of 16500.

I just wondered if I have this all thought out right. As a newbie I'm not sure if I have the concepts down and I just wondered "Are we screwed?"

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
    Rob and Jen
    Charlie and Danny
    2018 Momentum 349M
    2018 Ford F350 Diesel Long Bed

Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll probably want to have everything weighed at a CAT scale to get your actual numbers.

The Razr will probably help you on the pin weight. We only haul bicycles in our Momentum so we have a lot of pin weight. We pull with a DRW and it does great, but I often think hauling some additional weight in the garage would be nice.

Either way, you are going to be close. So to answer you specifically on "being screwed" depends on how you plan to use your unit. Long trips/short trips, mountains/no mountains, a large family/2 people, etc.