User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New Owners--Grease The Suspension!

Quote Originally Posted by Jerryr View Post
    May I suggest that you get a grease gun and push some grease in the wet bolts. It looks like you have the typical red grease wiped on the zerk fittings and no grease actually pushed through the bolts. I would bet when you push black grease through the zerk fittings there will be no red grease come out.
    Jerry--you were 100% correct. I am by no means an expert with a grease gun, but I know old grease should push out when new goes in. With a trailer that is only a few months old and with less than 2,000 miles I expected to see grease come out before the new pushed through. Nope. Nothing. Nada. It took quite a few pumps to see evidence of grease.

I urge other fellow new owners to tackle their suspension as soon as it is practical. Don't wait for the first year inspection (or mileage accumulation).

Now to the process I used. Please feel free to critique as I'm sure I didn't do it 100% correct.

Step 1: Insert grease with weight on the wheels. There were some zerks that refused to take grease. (Did I mention the LockNLube is awesome?)

Step 2: One wheel at a time, I reversed the tension on the suspension by using my Trailer Aid to raise a wheel into the air. As noted in other posts, I had to use an additional piece of wood to get the wheel off the ground. On the side in the air I tried each zerk fitting again. Most took grease, one refused. Using a block of wood and a 1.5 ton car jack (it's all I have) I jacked under the U-bolts at the end of the axle just enough to eliminate tension on the suspension. The one zerk fitting giving me fits finally took grease. I then moved the Trailer Aid to the wheel on the same side and hit the zerk fittings one more time (a total of three times on each zerk fitting).

I used Mobil1 Synthetic (it is on Dexter's approved grease list).