User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Determining your amp usage when plugged into 30 amp or 50 amp service.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bumpass, VA
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Determining your amp usage when plugged into 30 amp or 50 amp service.

    We are owners of a Class A and are looking to purchase a 5th wheel. In the Class A RV with a 30 amp service, there was a meter located in the stove hood that showed the amps you were using. When the usage went above the 30 amps, items you were using, usually the air conditioning, cycled off until there was enough amps available and then it would come back on. No fuses blown or circuits shutting off. Apparently that is not how the 5th wheels work. Can anyone explain how you determine your amps being used and keep track of them so as to not go over your service limit? If you go over, do you have fuses blowing or circuit breakers cutting off? Looking at the Reflection 303RLS. Thanks for any assistance or input you can provide.

  2. #2
    Site Sponsor Lingerlonger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    388
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my experience, with my old 30 AMP 5W, it would just trip a breaker when I went over the limit. I don't recall ever blowing a fuse.
    It usually happened when we had the AC and microwave both going, and someone would turn on a toaster or hair dryer.
    Just turn the AC off for a while and reset the breaker.
    Ken & Wilma
    Central Maryland
    2014 Reflection 337RLS #439
    2011 F250 CC 4x4

  3. #3
    Site Sponsor thompsons 369rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Gig Harbor, Wa
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KICKNBACK View Post
    We are owners of a Class A and are looking to purchase a 5th wheel. In the Class A RV with a 30 amp service, there was a meter located in the stove hood that showed the amps you were using. When the usage went above the 30 amps, items you were using, usually the air conditioning, cycled off until there was enough amps available and then it would come back on. No fuses blown or circuits shutting off. Apparently that is not how the 5th wheels work. Can anyone explain how you determine your amps being used and keep track of them so as to not go over your service limit? If you go over, do you have fuses blowing or circuit breakers cutting off? Looking at the Reflection 303RLS. Thanks for any assistance or input you can provide.
    Wow! A device that turns stuff off when the amp draw reaches a critical level? Cool. No such thing in the 5th wheels that I know of. I just figure the amp draw of the major elec users (water heater, A/C, etc) using a basic conversion (watts divided by volts equals amps) and some common sense power management. Works for us. Not a big deal when plugged into 50 amp but have to be a bit more aware on 30 amp, especially in hot weather with the A/C.
    Andy & Julie
    Gig Harbor, Wa
    2014 Solitude 369RL S/N 104
    2012 F350 SWR 4x4 CC 6.7 Diesel

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is probably what you would need to add to the 5th wheel and I'm betting it was similar in your motorhome.

    http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_hw50c.htm
    Lostincanada and Jahna
    AKA Derek and Tatjana plus our pups Shadow and Nani
    2012 Ram 2500
    2015 Reflection 337 #814
    Hailing from Southern Ontario Canada

  5. #5
    Site Sponsor 2hams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    754
    Blog Entries
    21
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We have the portable Progressive Industries EMS. You can see the amps on the display.

    We have been at a couple of 30 amp sites, one in full sun at 90 degrees. We only have one A/C. We had no problems, but I don't try to run hair dryer and A/C together. At 50 amp sites no problems.

    Kay & Dave - Virginia Beach, VA
    Golden Retriever Molly - Been swimming in 28 states
    2019 Solitude 310GK
    2019 GMC Denali CC/LB SRW
    Previous rig: 2014 Reflection 303RLS #314 and 2008 Silverado 2500 D/A

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2018, 05:29 PM
  2. Refrigerator runs on LP when plugged into shore power.
    By Jim Van Ostran in forum Electrical System and Wiring
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 05-22-2017, 04:22 PM
  3. Need some help determining TV for a Reflection 311
    By FLTom52 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 05-19-2017, 09:08 AM
  4. Backup camera only works when plugged into shore power
    By perfpix in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2016, 07:05 AM
  5. A/c fan blows when plugged into power and heat is on.
    By 4daysrock in forum Heating and Air Conditioning systems.
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2014, 05:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

DISCLAIMER:This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Grand Design RV, LLC or any of its affiliates. This is an independent site.