User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DC Electric problem-Rear Lights Fuse-2016 300GK

Greetings, I am not an electrician, but I do have a basic/fair/working knowledge of electricity and how to use a Volt/Ohm meter. The 15 amp (DC) fuse for the "rear lights" blew. The "rear lights" circuit appears to have 6 switches (under the forward cupboard) and one of the camper style lights in pantry. I replaced the fuse with a 15 amp, turned on the main overhead lights and it worked for about 1 minute then blew the fuse again. I thought, OK I have a bad wire somewhere, somehow. I figured I would replace the fuse and then turn on lights one system at a time but now the fuse pops as soon as I put it in the socket. Ok, so I pulled down all of the switches and pulled the wires off each one such that it appears to me that there is no way a circuit could exist but yet when I put in another fuse it pops immediately. Yes, the switches have proper continuity both on and off, besides I disconnected them from the system. I also pulled the full electrical panel so I could look and trace wires. I didn't see any obvious short circuit issues. I also moved the wire that powers the "rear lights" off the post terminal on the panel just in case the terminal was bad but the same experience from the updated position on the panel. Yes, when the fuse pops the red light illuminates showing me the failed circuit. I dropped all of the lights to verify a good connection and yes they were all good, nothing loose or chewed. I am now thinking that a critter ate a wire so I also was paying attention for tell tail signs for rodent infestation but nope, no signs of critters! It seems that the DC wiring is closed, is that right? I see wires going back to the grounding bar so I presume there isn't a "frame" type ground as far as this circuit is concerned. Is that correct thinking? When I check ground continuity it is good. When I check the positive w