User Tag List

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need tips for wiring through roof of 2500RL

I will be installing a Winegard TOGO. It is a dome-like device that mounts on the roof and a cable comes through the roof to a ON/OFF switch. I would like to put the switch near the main switch panel as you enter the trailer.

I have never done this before and would appreciate any tips. Or is it as simple as drill a 3/4" hole and fill 'er full of DICOR when you are finished?
    2016 Ford F-150
    2020 Grand Design 2500RL
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For solar wiring thru the roof, I picked a spot that allowed bringing the wires down so I could run them where I wanted and be concealed.

You'll want to avoid drilling into the air conditioning duct(s) if you have them. Some units have 2 ducts that run between the living room and bedroom.
    I don't recall how wide they are, maybe 6". Looking at the air conditioning vents in the ceiling gives an idea of where they are. I came close to one duct.

Above your main switch panel is probably an open wall space. In my case I had a pocket door that showed were the tank vent pipe went up thru the ceiling.

I used a hole saw on the roof. Where I drilled thru there was several inches to the interior ceiling.

I'd put sealant under the the kit's cable entry plate as well as on top of the plate(eternabond tape works good as well) and the cable where is fits under the plate.

Roof hole:

Ceiling hole:

Convenience Center, wires running to ceiling, yours could be different depending on location & number of wires running upward:
    - Gene

Kim & Gene
    2015 Reflection 317RST
    2017 Ram 3500 CC LB 4x2 6.7 CTD AISIN 3.73 DRW Auto Level Rear Air, BD3, Prodigy P3, Aux Tank

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)