User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

No Faith in my Abilities

I purchased my truck a Ram 3500 6.7L Diesel 4x4 already and plan on purchasing a 2020 Grand Design 38' 5th Wheel BHS311 in the spring and becoming a full timer. A friend and I are retiring selling everything and going on the road. She will not be driving the unit at all. I have some experience with a tent camper and I have worked with a utility trailer for years. I extremely handy and versatile. I plan to have two gentlemen who drive transport to go out with me for training.
    My problem is and this. It only seems to be coming mostly from men and I've heard the little lady can't handle a 38' trailer. I was told I should only haul no longer than a 34'. I will have trouble at the gas stations, parking at trailer parks it would just be too much for me and one man's final words were "mark my words". I will plan my routes ahead of time and pick camgrounds with pull through sites (I can back it up if I have to no problem).
    How does everyone else deal with issues hauling a trailer\5th wheel with a length of 38"? What tips do I need to make our trips safe and our retirement enjoyable?

Case

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most private campgrounds are not an issue for that size, but it might be too large for some state parks. My travel trailer is 38 feet and I just look for truck stops to get diesel. I have only stayed in back in sites and have never had an issue.
    2019 Reflection 315RLTS
    2019 Ford F250 Lariat SuperCab PSD SRW

Former set up:
    2013 Kodiak 291RESL
    2017 Ford F150 Platinum

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A 5th wheel at 38 feet is about 8 feet shorter then a 38 foot pull trailer. About 8 feet is in your bed, and not hanging off the rear bumper. Easy to pull IMO. I have a 311 BHS and love it. Your truck has an 8 foot bed, right? I hope so...