User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    83 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Disc brake converted, step inside if you're mechanically inclined

I'm thinking seriously now about jumping on to the converted bandwagon after reading many positive reviews here and having had the opportunity to ride along with a fellow forum member yesterday as he put his converted GD to slumber in winter storage. He gave me the opportunity to drive his rig, and all I can say is WOW! I have had experience towing trailers with hydraulic surge discs and never thought them any better than drum setups, but these electric-to-hydraulics are clearly different animals thanks to the control unit. I truly couldn't believe how much shorter of a stop it was and found myself braking way too early being used to the longer distance. Finally the advantages we all know discs provide on our vehicles for our trailers!

Now let my preface where I am going with this by saying I am an engineer by profession and a life-long gearhead having worked to fund my schooling in both paint and body and mechanical repair, and I have built several drag cars, off-road vehicles, hot rods, and restomods for which the '37, '38, and '56 Chevys are still in my garage! Working on brakes and building complete systems doesn't scare me at all. However, I also enjoy the convenience of well thought out plug and play as the years tick by and my bones ache more and more...