User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Smile Complete newbie hitch and hitch prep question

Hi everyone! Complete newbie here. We have never towed anything before and are set to purchase a 28BH in the next few months. Our TV is a 2019 F350 with short bed. It is not 5th wheel prepped as far as I remember. My questions are:

1. What is the first step I need to take to get tow ready? I assume there is some sort of 5th wheel prep package that needs to be installed on my truck? Where is the best place to have this done?
    2. What kind of hitch is best to tow the 28BH with a short bed truck? I've read about several types but still unclear what is best for clearance, ease, etc. I'd prefer to be able to use the bed easily whether that means just having a ball or having a hitch that a strong small woman can remove herself.

I'm sure i will have MANY more questions in the future and appreciate everyones expertise!

Thanks!

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My truck bed has 5 plugs in the bottom. They are removed to get to attachments on frame. You should see them in your bed if you have 5th wheel prep. What “short” bed do you have? The standard 6’5” or really short version?
    Bob and Cheryl, Puka the doodle
    2018 Ram 2500 Crew,Diesel,4x4
    2016 Reflection 27RL
    2012 Palomino 6.5 camper

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The standard 6'5" length. I'll check the window sticker that came with the truck but I don't think it came with 5th wheel prep as at the time we bought the truck, we were leaning very strongly towards TT, not a 5th wheel. I do think it came with the "camper" prep package but this is for an in-bed camper.

Thanks!

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We were in the same position a month ago. I have a shortbed as well. You have a TON of info to swim through.