User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ford/Chevy Debate Anyone?

Okay, okay... Everybody calm down and don't get you're tinsel in a tangle. Hear me out.

I like to keep my trucks for a long time. I also am generally suspicious of the "All New!" hype. So a little history: At thirteen years I replaced my GM truck with another one; a little upgraded but I ordered it so I could get the old body and the old engine... The old reliable stuff. Fifteen years later, I did it again. And this time, the new technology scares me to death. In the last four and a half years, this new truck has had at least $7k of warranty work. (My last truck had one oil leak fixed under warranty.)

I have been driving GM trucks for the last 30 years, but I'm actually not brand loyal. Both times I bought a new truck, I drove a Ford as well. It always came down to things like "Does the seat fit me?" Or " Which has a smoother, quieter ride?" And I made my choice at the time based on those subjective things. When people have asked me, I have always told them that Ford and GM are very comparable. It just comes down to which feels better to you.

All that being said, here we are in 2020 and I'm afraid to let this truck get out of warranty. I have driven the 2020 versions of both trucks and the look and feel is really pretty close. So now my decision is different. This time it's about the prediction of reliability... Everybody get out your crystal balls...

Has anybody seen any substiatable (is that a word?) data on reliability of Ford vs GM in the diesel pickup world? At my current "wish I was retired" age, I don't need to pull a railroad car up Pikes Peak at 80 mph. I just want things to work.

Thoughts?
    Roger, Stacy and the Sophie the fur kid

2017 Solitude 300GK
    2015 Chev 2500 Diesel (replaced)
    2020 F350 DRW

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)