Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

2017 F350 6.7 pre-purchase inspection

We are buying a 2017 F350 with the 6.7 diesel near Houston, TX. Is there any way to get this vehicle inspected before we buy it? The carfax on this vehicle shows no maintenance. So either the previous owner did preventative maintenance himself, or he didn't do it. The vehicle looks like new in cosmetic condition, so it appears the previous owner took good care of it. However, that doesn't mean he changed the oil and filters regularly. I'm new to diesel engines, this is my first one. What do I need to look for when I take this vehicle for a test drive?

Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you can find a good mechanic in the Houston area I would pay them to go through it. Fluids, fuel filters, air filter, chassis, etc. all should be checked as well as hooking to the OBDII with the proper equipment to evaluate. While the truck is running you can scroll through the on board computer (I believe in the “Driver Assist” section) and check the engine total hours and engine idle hours - high idle hours are detrimental to the truck as only driving the truck will get it anywhere close to normal operating temperature - also tends to clog the EGR system.