User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is my truck big enough?

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting but I have been looking around the forums for awhile. My wife and I will be taking a trip across the US this summer from Washington to Minnesota, down to Florida, back through Texasand up through Nevada. I have a 29' Jayco Eagle that I will be towing. As of right now my tow vehicle is a 2004 2500 Avalanche. The GVW for the Jayco is 7600 lbs. Am I going to be safe pulling this with the Jayco? I was looking at a 1999 f350 super duty with the 6.8l motor as an alternative. If the Avalanche isn't enough then will this be or do I need a diesel?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Chris

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may have enough truck but for a trip like this you will use a lot of fuel. There are some serious mountain passes to cross. Like the one just out side of Idaho into Montana. It gets better in North Dakota. If it was me and I would go with what I have and not buy a used truck you have no history with. If you have the funds than a new truck may be the ticket for a trip like this. Would a diesel be a better choice ? You bet but I wouldn't just get one for just one trip. If you go with a Ford than a 15 and newer is the best choice for the 6.7 diesel.
    I got a used 5th wheel a 03 that was gently used and there was no way I could trust a truck that was used. After all it's what gets you there and back. I have made the trip you are going on and we had a blast.We went all the way to Maine down the east coast to Florida and back to California. Lots to see and do. it took us 3 months to do our trips. We did 2. One northern route and one southern route coming back across the middle of the country.
    Have fun and you will take lots of pictures.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)