User Tag List

Thread: Almost Lost It

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Almost Lost It

Last August, my wife and I drove to San Antonio, TX, to take delivery on a new (never used) 2019 297RSTS, from a private owner. Driving a Ram 2500 diesel, set up for towing, we hitched up the Reflection Trailer with a 14,000 lb Equalizer hitch and pinned the hitch to the truck receiver with a lockable pin. I have been using the same pin for several years pulling a different trailer. Driving back to New Mexico on I-10, we had gone about 50 miles with no problems or sway. I decided to test the trailer brakes using the truck's manual control. I heard a very loud bang! I released the brake and felt the trailer swaying. I was going up a hill, so I let off the gas, DID NOT HIT THE BRAKES, coasted to the shoulder and let the rig stop by itself. My thinking at the time was somehow the trailer popped of the ball mount, even though the latched was locked. I was shocked when I got to the back of the truck. The entire hitch assembly was free of the truck receiver and caught in the crossed chains! Always crossing the chains, when attached to the truck, saved us. The hitch assembly was hanging about 2 inches above the road. The chain attachment plates were severely bent down. The lockable cap of the pin was the only thing left of the pin assembly! It was found where the chain attached to the truck. What happened? Did the pin shear and break when the trailer brakes were tested? Did the lockable pin cap not engage properly when locked? With that much load applied, I can't believe that an unlocked pin would work its way loose and fall out. Because of the loud bang, I think the Pin broke. I was able to reassemble everything and luckily, I had a spare, new standard pin that got us home safely. I have been towing trailers and boats for 40 years and never heard of a pin breaking. Reaffirmed a couple of lessons; if something seems wrong, stay calm, don't panic brake and pull over im