User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Has anyone reinforced their leaf spring hangers?

While searching the web (yes, I've got lots of time!) for info on suspension upgrades I came across an interesting idea and I was wondering if anyone has done or anything like it. They took small 1/4" thick plates and had them welded to back of the rear leaf spring hanger brackets and to the front of the front leaf spring hanger brackets (see the pic below). Nothing was done to the center support that I could see. I don't think anything like this could be done to center bracket because it would interfere with the movement of the equalizer. I'm no expert on leaf spring suspensions but it looks like it would strengthen the front and rear leaf spring brackets. It looks like fairly easy to do. Has anyone done, have any info on or considered doing this?

Below is the link link to the threat where I found the picture.
    https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...-178539-2.html

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Bob

Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you use the search function on this and the other forum, there are numerous threads on this topic. The other Rob (Cate & Rob) and Tucson Jim have posted some good information on it.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,
    Sailun LRG tires, solar, DP windows, W/D
    (Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
    Full time since 08/2015

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BeerBrewer View Post
    While searching the web (yes, I've got lots of time!) for info on suspension upgrades I came across an interesting idea and I was wondering if anyone has done or anything like it. They took small 1/4" thick plates and had them welded to back of the rear leaf spring hanger brackets and to the front of the front leaf spring hanger brackets