User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Inverter, Charger, Automatic transfer switch - Oh my!

I recently got caught up in the craze of swapping out my nocold to a residential fridge (thanks Jeff haha j/k). I called my dealer and found out they're backed up and the wait time would be 4-6 weeks. DW wasn't happy but I immediately went into problem solving mode. I called around and got other quotes and after thinking about it I realize I could do this myself. It's labor intensive but I have vacation coming up and I don't have any plans but to stay-cate. I am an engineer...of course my wife will tell you I'm a software engineer not an electrical or civil engineer . It's a joke that I always make before tackling difficult jobs like this one.

Well, youtube and google took me through a journey where I'm almost convinced I can do this but still have a lot of questions - although I feel I'm close to a solution. With the money I would save in labor cost I could install a solid inverter/charger/automatic transfer switch. I really like the solution "All About RV's" presented in this Youtube video (see below):

I did like what Changing Lanes did with the simplicity of the Go Power but some are complaining about breaker pops...so much so that I thought I should go back to the All About RV's solution.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-06-26 at 3.23.13 PM.png 
Views:	117 
Size:	715.8 KB 
ID:	27554

In the diagram I added X's to items that I will not install because I won't have solar and do not have a generator. Based on removing those items (also I don't have the internal EMS - I have the external one) I'm "Guessing" I don't need the automatic transfer switch???