User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    pilotkev

Getting concerned

Took my 27RL in for some warranty repairs that couldn't wait , dealer tells me they can have it finished in time for a trip we have had planned for over a month so we left it , I called today and now they tell me that they are still waiting on Grand Design to approve the warranty repairs so there it sits not getting worked on costing valuable time is this normal ? Had I know that they would have to wait I would of fixed it myself

Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi pilotkev,

I am new to RVs, but this industry wide service process is still rather baffling to me.
    From what I read here and elsewhere, your frustration is more common than not.
    "Bring us your RV and park it on our lot while we take a month or two to get around to spending a couple of hours on your rig ". Would anyone accept this attitude from their car dealer ? their furnace repair guy ? their dentist ? Not very likely.

Since you have put this in the section of the forum that Grand Design monitors, I hope that you get a response from someone at Grand Design, since this does not seem to fit with what they say their dealers have agreed to and certainly not how they take care of customers directly.

I think that I am lucky to have a dealer (Layzee Acres in Orillia Ontario Canada) who has been willing to look at things differently. Admittedly, the delivery process was strung out over several weeks waiting for resolution of some PDI things, but we were in no rush, so we went with their process. Little did I know that this is "RV industry normal".

A few more things cropped up as we got to know the rig and were getting ready to head south for the winter. I sent Layzee Acres a detailed list and they got back to me with "we need a picture of this or the serial number off that". Eventually, we got to "bring it in Thursday and pick it up Friday". Everything was done as requested . . . in one day.