User Tag List

Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Solar package from GD worth it?

Total solar newby here. Not totally new to RV's but close. Wondering if the $1685 for the 300w panel and the 1000w inverter is a worthwhile investment. We will be staying in a couple of different places that won't have shore power when we are riding our SXS. I realize 1000w isn't that much but trying to decide if adding the solar package has an advantage over just starting from scratch with the solar prep already on the 31G. Both places we plan to go we should be able to run the genset whenever we want but not 100% for sure that every place will be like that. Thanks for any help.
    2021 Momentum 31G
    2021 20' Haulmark Edge race trailer
    '17 Ram CCLB 3500 dually 6.7 turbo
    '96 Chevy C3500 CC dually 454
    2019 Honda Talon X
    1985 Honda FL350R Odyssey

Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am no expert, but I have been researching different systems for a long time now. Seems you can get a basic 100 watt solar kit for around $150 and 100 watt panels for like $100 each so that's probably like $350 worth of hardware. Add a 1000 watt inverter maybe another $100 so basically around $500 worth of hardware. So from that perspective it's not worth it. However you can look at it like you are paying a $1,000 premium for having it all installed and ready to go. If you are able to install a system yourself, I would rather install exactly what I want and save some $$ also. I'm assuming that doesn't come with lithium?

Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The solar package is really nice if you have the residential fridge as it charges the batteries on travel days. If I didn't have a residential fridge and had a generator, I'd probably skip it. If you need solar to power your rig when you're boondocking, you're better off building a real system (e.g. more than 300w, a larger inverter, etc).
    Brian & Kellie