Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Limiting wind sway?

Hello,

I am new to the camper/RV/towing world. Bought my first, a 2021 Imagine 2400BH, this September and was able to take it on 3 trips with the family before winterizing it today. I am towing the 2400BH with a 2018 F-150 Super Crew Lariat with Max Towing and an Equalizer E4 WD hitch. Weight is all good on the tow vehicle and trailer and the hitch is properly installed. Truck is level before and after hitch is hooked up and the Ford dashboard is showing no lift. I travel with all the extra weight in the pass thru cabinet in front or middle (food in kitchen cabinets) and nothing added to behind the rear axle.

Two of my trips have been around 100 miles one way... both trips out, the truck has towed fine and there's been no sway issues even with trucks passing. On both return trips, there has been wind and its caused significant sway. Today, the winds were a constant 15 mph with gusts to 30 mph on the highway (eastern Missouri, so its not exactly flat but highways between towns have not much but trees to break the wind up).

I have no experience towing before purchasing this trailer. Is there any way to limit the impact of wind on trailer sway, or is it just one of those things by having a tall camper? Would a bigger truck help at all with the wind? Would rather not make the investment in a new truck unless it would significantly limit sway with the wind, since I am having no issues on calm days.

Any help is appreciated!

Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You'll get a lot of "buy a new truck" guys chiming in. But, in more or less order of cost, try first:

1. Reading about how to, and going to, a truck scale. Simply has to be done to validate the reality of your numbers, and to verify any changes you might make.