User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

337rls & Ram 2500?

Like to move up from a 303rls to the 337rls. Have a 2016 Ram 2500 with 6.7 Cummings. Pulls the 303 with no problem. Wondering if I added Sum Springs if it could safely pull a 337. I’m no mechanic and all these pin went, GVW, total weight numbers just confuse me.

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, you are probably over weight now. Stopping is more important than pulling.
    Bob and Cheryl, Puka the doodle
    2018 Ram 2500 Crew,Diesel,4x4
    2016 Reflection 27RL
    2012 Palomino 6.5 camper

Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A loaded 337 will put 3,000 or more on the pin. 3/4-ton diesel trucks typically do not have that kind of payload. Modern diesel trucks will pull a brick house off its foundation... you just can't put the weight of the house on the rear axle. Use 23% of the trailer's stickered GVWR to estimate a loaded pin weight and enter all the numbers here:

http://changingears.com/rv-sec-calc-...eight-fw.shtml

We were full-time in a Reflection 337 for 4-1/2 years. We had an unusual Sierra 2500HD in that it was rear wheel drive (lighter than 4WD and increases payload). With 3,060 lbs. payload capacity on the truck (per the CAT scales), we were always at or just over the payload for the truck with the 337. I would stick with the 303 - it's a perfect match for the truck you have. All you would gain with the 337 is the bed slide and the larger front closet, anyway.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,
    Sailun LRG tires, solar, DP windows, W/D
    (Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
    Full time since 08/2015

Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BreakfastinAmerica View Post
    ... Stopping is more important than pulling.