User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Surge Protector / Hookup

Apologies for a really basic question, I'm a newbie and not an electrician. Seems like forum members here and elsewhere speak to Progressive Industries protectors; awesome. I have a 30 amp TT, so when I'm out and should happen to be at camp site that is 50 amp, are there separate connections for 30 and 50 amps? Or do I get a 50 amp protector and then a 50-30 amp connector? Sorry for such a naïve question
    JayRay
    2021 2600 RB; GMC Sierra HD

Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to the forum.

Most camp sites are either 30A or 30A/50A. The sites with both have separate breakers and receptacles for each power source. I would get the 30A if your trailer is 30A. It's good to have a 50 to 30 adapter in the event there is only 50A. Make sure the surge protector is an EMS type unit, not just a surge protector.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    2023 Momentum 398M-R
    2023 Ford F-450

SOLD - 2021 Reflection 311BHS
    SOLD - 2017 Momentum 399TH

Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks much; your post plus a post I found on Camp Addict cleared up my confusion. For anyone else seeing this question down the road, see: https://campaddict.com/best-rv-surge-protector/
    I'm going with the PT30x EMS. It's portable, so I know I need to buy a lock, but at this stage one less thing to sort out - installing a permanent EMS.
    Thanks much.
    JayRay

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JayRay View Post