Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

pin box side plate hitting bed rail

Just back from shake down with new grand design 369rl...tv is new 3500 denali srw std bed...have anderson ultimate hitch.
    In very sharp forward turn...past 60 degrees...the side plates of the trail aire pin box hit the bed rails limiting turn radius.
    I am a newbie at this and very frustrated...is this normal?
    Thx...bo

Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Well, no, not normal. Nothing should touch anywhere but I can't speak to your specific setup. I have a Mor/ryde pin box and the Andersen rail mounted hitch in my 6.5' bed and I have no contact. I have the Mor/ryde mounted in the OEM holes and the ball on the Andersen is in the second hole. You may have to play with the ball height and see if that helps. I don't know much about the Trail Aire pin box so I'm not sure how much, if any, adjustability you have there. I also suspect your truck bed rails are probably higher than mine as well.

Paul "Poppy" and Deb Cervone
    2022 Imagine XLS 22MLE
    2021 Imagine XLS 17MKE - SOLD ; 2015 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS - SOLD
    2016 GMC Denali 3500HD SRW Duramax/Allison CC 4x4; Tire Minder TPMS

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Poppy's 5th Wheel View Post
    Well, no, not normal. Nothing should touch anywhere but I can't speak to your specific setup. I have a Mor/ryde pin box and the Andersen rail mounted hitch in my 6.5' bed and I have no contact. I have the Mor/ryde mounted in the OEM holes and the ball on the Andersen is in the second hole. You may have to play with the ball height and see if that helps. I don't know much about the Trail Aire pin box so I'm not sure how much, if any, adjustability you have there. I also suspect your truck bed rails are probably higher than mine as well.