Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First Time Black Tank Use

At the end of the month we pick up our 2500rl and after 3 days on the road we will be bringing it home.
    Question is what do I do to the Black Tank for its VERY first use?
    Keeping in mind I"ll be dumping it at the end of the 3rd day due to we won't be taking the rig out for another 14 days.

After that we will be taking 4 day trips once every month until August when we will be camping for 3 weeks straight in Colorado.
    I'm a Newbie to all this type of camping. Appreciate any help you can give.
    Thanks

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nothing special...just ensure there is an adequate amount of water in there before you begin using it....I typically like to put 5 gallons or so in the tank. I also use one of the Porta-Pak dissolving deodorizers as it helps break down the solid and TP. My unit came with a bottle of Thetford Bio holding tank treatment when I picked it up. So yours may as well. If so, that will get you thru your first 3-day trip.

Before you dump it, I would add a bunch of water until it is at least 2/3 full and leave that in the tank while you drive to the dump station. it will help agitate things and aid in breaking up any larger chunks for easier removal. Always dump your black tank first and shut the valve before you dump your grey tank(s). The grey tank water will somewhat rinse out the plumbing and sewer hose so it is less of a mess to deal with...
    Jeff and Debbie
    2021 Imagine 2250RK
    2015 Ram2500 Laramie CC 6.7 Cummins Diesel w/air-ride auto leveling
    USMC Veteran

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent thank you.

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Extreme View Post