User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Does TV charge lithium?

Maybe I missed it, but I have not found a post on the subject. Will a tow vehicle with just a lead acid battery charge a trailer with a lithium battery while towing? My truck does have the tow package with the high output alternator, but it is my understanding that the "high output" is just the current, not higher voltage.
    Mike & (RIP Karen)
    2021 Imagine 2600RB
    2011 Toyota Tundra 5.7 RW, Tow Package
    Husky Centerline WDH
    Champion 2500DF, Prodigy P2

Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am by far no expert and I'm still learning. In fact I'm as green as they come on this subject. Hopefully the more experience will chime in soon and correct me. Yes your TV will charge but not effectively. Best to get a DC to DC charger for the TV an tt hook up.
    Steph & Lise
    2019 F150 Lariat 2.7 EB
    2020 Imagine XLS 22MLE

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The short answer is yes. The long answer is whether lead acid, AGM or lithium batteries the charge to the batteries is minimal because the distance from the alternator with minimal wire size means there is significant voltage drop. So know your batteries will receive a charge while driving but I would not depend on it to provide a full and complete charge.
    Regards, Bruce, Lin An, Kenji & Suki (Our two Akitas)
    2019 Solitude 310GK-R
    2015 Ram 3500 Big Horn CC, TD, Aisin Tranny, DRW

Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AZMike View Post
    ... Will a tow vehicle with just a lead acid battery charge a trailer with a lithium battery while towing?
    My understanding is most trucks will put out 7-9amps to the RV batteries and it doesn't matter if the RV has lead acid or Lithium.
    Brian & Kellie