User Tag List

Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Weight rating of hitch

Hi all. I’m new to both towing and fifth wheels, and hoping for recommendations on a hitch for the Solitude 310GK, 15,000lb GVWR. TV is an F350 SRW LB so won’t need a slider. Can’t find info on what weight rating I need on the hitch - 16,000? 20,000? Or higher? I have a payload capacity of 4,011 lbs, and with the trailer’s pin weight of around 3,000lbs, and truck cargo weight of around 450lbs I do have capacity for the heavy models. Truck comes prepped with pucks. Any recommendations?
    Thanks!

Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For the 310GK, I would recommend an 18K hitch. 20K is overkill and would be heavier. If you have the 8K axles with 17.5" load range H tires, I believe the GVWR for the trailer is 18K, anyway.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,
    Sailun LRG tires, solar, DP windows, W/D
    (Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
    Full time since 08/2015

Mentioned
    135 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I absolutely love my B&W Companion hitch....American made Quality and a very solid and well made hitch. I have the Companion 25K model, but that is because the regular Companion (20K) just isn't quite big enough in my opinion for my Momentum 394 that has a GVWR of 20,000 lbs. If I were you, I would go with the 20K Companion....unless of course you are planning on upgrading the trailer to a larger model at some time in the future.
    2016 F350 CrewCab Dually
    2018 Momentum 394M...Heavily Modded!
    2023 Suzuki GSX-S1000 GT+
    Excessive Payload is a Wonderful Thing

"If it ain't fast....It ain't Fun"

Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pippamills View Post