User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Small crack in fiberglass under door handle - temporary solution until body shop?

Hi All-
    Replaced my door latch with a new RV lock this weekend on my new 31mb. When I was installing, I noticed a small crack (1 in) in the door that was previously covered by the old door handle and is now partially exposed. My dealer is backed up for a while, so am wondering if just a little white duct tape is a satisfactory solve until they can repair. Any concerns with that?
    Thanks,
    Ted.
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 3500HD SRV 6.6 Gas
    2021 Reflection 31MB

Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am by no means a fiberglass expert, so please dont follow my suggestion blindly without other research. I wonder if it's a good idea to drill a tiny hole at the end of the crack to prevent it from spreading. Some type of waterproof tape as you suggested might be good, might want to do a test somewhere first to make sure it doesnt leave behind a residue on your door.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    2023 Momentum 398M-R
    2023 Ford F-450

SOLD - 2021 Reflection 311BHS
    SOLD - 2017 Momentum 399TH

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDog View Post
    Hi All-
    Replaced my door latch with a new RV lock this weekend on my new 31mb. When I was installing, I noticed a small crack (1 in) in the door that was previously covered by the old door handle and is now partially exposed. My dealer is backed up for a while, so am wondering if just a little white duct tape is a satisfactory solve until they can repair. Any concerns with that?
    Thanks,
    Ted.