User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Factory Receptacle for Fridge is Crap

    So I was going to install a cooling fan inside the outside vent of my fridge and the plug is in the right rear corner but only has one space for a plug! The second port is sealed over and doesn’t appear to actually have a second port. It’s also behind plumbing and wiring and I don’t think I have the skills to redo it. The fan is a small computer type so it shouldn’t draw much power. If I got a good high quality two port power strip with a short cord and plugged it into the one port then plugged the fridge and the fan into the strip would that overload it? There is one wire leading into the receptacle and one going out. I’m obviously not and electrician but wouldn’t the strip with two items plugged in pull the same amps, etc? The fan would only be running when on shore power and it has a rheostat type control. Thanks in advance.
    "Never give up, Never slow down, Never grow old, Never ever die young"
    (James Taylor)

    2019 Grand Design Reflection 320MKS
    2012 GMC 2500HD
    B&W Turnover ball
    Anderson Ultimate Hitch

  2. #2
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is a 110vAC plug - most computer style fans are 12vDC, so verify that before you plug it in or you will let the magic smoke out of the fan.
    I suspect they do not plan on people plugging in more than the fridge in an outlet hidden behind a panel, so it's not a surprise that it only has one plug.
    I installed two fans on ours with a temp control (only kicks on when the fridge lines get hot), but I used 12vDC fans and tapped into the 12vDC block mounted back there. If your fan is truly 110vAC then the power strip would work. The fan probably only pulls an amp or two, and it should trip the breaker if it shorts out or draws too much.
    Jake and Leah, our two boys, and our Lab
    2013 RAM 2500 6.7L 4x4
    2015 Reflection 323BHS

  3. #3
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The fan has a regular 110 plug installed. It also comes with wiring to adapt into a 12v system. I have plugged the 110 in my house and it does work.
    "Never give up, Never slow down, Never grow old, Never ever die young"
    (James Taylor)

    2019 Grand Design Reflection 320MKS
    2012 GMC 2500HD
    B&W Turnover ball
    Anderson Ultimate Hitch

  4. #4
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What gauge wire should the strip be?
    "Never give up, Never slow down, Never grow old, Never ever die young"
    (James Taylor)

    2019 Grand Design Reflection 320MKS
    2012 GMC 2500HD
    B&W Turnover ball
    Anderson Ultimate Hitch

  5. #5
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Skippy View Post
    What gauge wire should the strip be?
    I believe the fridge draws 7-8amps, so just about any strip should work. I think the smallest I've seen was rated to 15A (which is probably what the breaker is as well).
    Jake and Leah, our two boys, and our Lab
    2013 RAM 2500 6.7L 4x4
    2015 Reflection 323BHS

  6. #6
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice. I ordered a small good one today.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

DISCLAIMER:This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Grand Design RV, LLC or any of its affiliates. This is an independent site.