Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need advice on the 17MKE

I am going to buy my 1st RV in 2023 and have my eye on the GD 17MKE.
    At first I was looking a bigger TT like the Outback 260UML until I learned it's not easy to tow with a 1/2 ton and its length might reduce my choices of where to park.

Anyway, I walked into a 17RBHL from Forest River and was extremely surprised how roomy it was. Next I was surprised again when I looked at the GD 17MKE it was 99% the same vehicle.
    Only visible differences I could see was the theater seats and the murphy bed had arm rests.

So, being a total newb, could you kind folks give me input, any input big or small, on this TT from GD.
    My plan is to drive it across the US and back then probably sell it after 3 years. Will be towing with a new F-150 Hybrid with a built in 7.2 KW generator.
    In case anyone is interested, My goal is to find a new place to live where the fishing is good and the houses cheap. (avid river fisherman)
    Plus, I am solo and dont have anything better to do once I retire.

Things I am most interested in hearing about are reliability, boondocking and comfort living 24/7 full-time.
    After you bought it, did you feel it was to small. I think the floor plan makes it look much larger than it is, but size is size, and I would like not to trade up.

Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm surprised no one has replied. The 17mke is a nice compact tt. We came from a Jayco Hybrid tt and one of our must have was a fix bed. Most of the time when we travel, we are in a different site every day or every other day. We preferred to have a fix bed. Another must have for us was being able to fully use the rig with the slide in. From what I've read, you can't open the Murphy bed with the slide in. Those were our must have, Ymmv.

Sent from my SM-P610 using Tapatalk
    Steph & Lise
    2019 F150 Lariat 2.7 EB