Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How much roll can a hitch take

My driveway has a slope and curve with a grass bank on the outside curve and a short retaining wall on the inside curve. It flattens out at the end and so does the terrain around it allowing the trailer to be stored mostly level. Thankfully, there are no issues with clearance between the driveway and the trailer, but the tow vehicle's passenger side tires were on the bank while backing it down. Unfortunately, I'm not good at measuring or guessing angles to describe how much roll there was. I've only backed it down once and maybe I can get batter to avoid this. My concern is not knowing how much roll the hitch/trailer can take. Does the ball allow for the tow vehicle and trailer to be on slightly different roll axis? If yes, what should I be watching during the backup process to avoid damage?

The WD hitch model is Husky 30849.
    2021 Imagine XLS 23bhe
    2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland v8 4WD | 7,400 tow | 6800 GVWR
    Husky WD 30849 w/ sway control kit | Tekonsha brake controller
    Jeep + driver and 2 passengers = 5,990 | Trailer = 6,520 | Tongue = 760

Will Not Be Dictated To
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Smile I Would Not Worry About That

Quote Originally Posted by rcjokibbe View Post