Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Route Assistance - What Do You Use?

Good morning - first-time poster.

I am taking a trip in a couple of weeks from the Tampa Area to Lake Lanier, GA. I have never done this far of a trip before (8-9 hours), as I usually stay in the Ocala area of the state (1-3 hr drive). I am pulling a 2018 Imagine 3170BH with a Chevy Silverado 1500 (with the tow package).

My question is on routing the trip - It's mostly Interstate driving, but am concerned about how / where to plan for Gas stops. My last trip was 3.5 hours, and I was getting about 8 mpg. Where do you typically stop for gas - Truck Stops? My concern there is, the truck is gas, not diesel.

Is there a particular app that you use, or do you first use your computer to research?
    Bill
    2018 GD Imagine 3170 BH
    2013 Silverado 1500 W/ Tow Package

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Truck stops are usually better than most gas stations. Figure out where they are along your route, then take a look at the satellite view on Google maps.

Don’t just look at the lot. See what the entrance is like. If you need to make a left hand turn across traffic to get back to your route, see if there is a light or an option on the other side of the road. I usually choose to turn left going in since you just have to wait for things to clear in one direction.
    John & Kathy
    2014 F250 Lariat FX4 6.2L SBCC
    2014 Reflection 303RLS
    SW Indiana

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by whta4887 View Post

I am taking a trip in a couple of weeks from the Tampa Area to Lake Lanier, GA. I have never done this far of a trip before (8-9 hours), as I usually stay in the Ocala area of the state (1-3 hr drive). I am pulling a 2018 Imagine 3170BH with a Chevy Silverado 1500 (with the tow package).