User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ram 1500 reg cab as a TV

First off, I’d like to point out, I’m new to towing travel trailers. That said I’m very interested in the 2150rb. I’ve been looking at what my vehicle can tow and I seem to be within the parameters but I’d really like some expert advice before I go ahead. I have a:

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT with a 5.7L hemi (and only 60k mi.)
    regular cab (120” wb) 2wd with a factory tow package.

3.92 axles,
    GVWR 6350
    Payload 1600
    Curb weight 4620
    GCWR 14000
    GTWR 9250

2passengers @ 300lbs

Assuming I add top of the line sway control and WD hitch, I’m still a bit concerned about stability with the shorter wheelbase and lighter truck. I believe I have enough power and cargo capacity to pull this trailer but I’d love some real world advice.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should be fine just get a good WDH like the Equalizer or Weighsafe and you will be fine. That 2150 is a good size TT for that truck in my opinion. That’s what we had before the 2600 we got now and it was a great towing trailer with our 09 1500 crew cab 2wd with 4.10s. The only thing I didn’t like was the 5 speed auto trans. The temp on it and the engine oil would get pretty hot going up into the mountains. But it never overheated or layed down on us. It would just pull.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The tranny is a bit of concern for sure. I was thinking about getting an external cooler installed and a trans temp gauge so I can keep an eye on it. Thanks a lot for your reply, makes me feel a lot better about it. I was also considering air bags but I’m not 100% sure they would drastically improve strability with this setup

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Frontier View Post