Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: solar question

Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

solar question

I'm still fairly new to using solar. this is my current setup. 4 x 100 watt panels, 2 each in series and both sets in parallel, connected to my ecoflow 1800 watt solar generator. i plug the shore power cord into the generator and the other end into the trailer.

this charges my generator and supply power to my trailer. i've noticed that something is really eating my lunch when I have everything connected like this to my trailer. i turned off all the breakers and back on , one by one and it is the CONV labeled breaker that eats anywhere around 230 watts. i understand that this is my converter and if that is off, it won't charge my batteries? Why would that converted take that much power?
    Could i hook up one separate panel to the furion port and leave the breaker off or is that a dumb idea? I have 2 - 6volt batteries in series on this trailer.

Thank you

Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It makes sense that the converter is pulling the most juice by far, it's a battery charger. Is that not what you want to have happen? If you turn it off, then yes it won't charge your batteries (or provide any 12V power to your trailer). If you want a power supply only (no charger), AFAIK you need to buy a separate unit.
    Current: 2021 Transcend 261BH, 2019 Ford F250 SRW SWB CC 6.2 - Picture
    Previous: 2016 Jayco X213, 2014 F150 EB 3.5

Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by treichelt View Post
    I'm still fairly new to using solar. this is my current setup. 4 x 100 watt panels, 2 each in series and both sets in parallel, connected to my ecoflow 1800 watt solar generator. i plug the shore power cord into the generator and the other end into the trailer.