Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Proper Drop for Hitch Ball Mount

Hi everybody. I’m totally new to the world of RVing and all things towing. I recently purchased a 2018 Imagine 2970RL and will be pulling with a Ram 2500.

The private party that I bought it from gave me a weight distribution hitch and hitch mount, but it seems a little high to me. They were towing with a ram 1500.

I followed the static measuring instructions i’ve seen in various videos, measuring 24 1/2 inches to the top of my receiver and 15 1/2 inches to the bottom of the coupler on the grand design, when level. It gives me an overall drop of 9 inches, but that seems like an awful lot. I don’t even find very many hitch ball mounts with that kind of drop. I forgot to measure the total sag of my truck when connected, but it sure feels like a lot as I watch the coupler drop onto the ball.

Just looking for some guidance on whether or not the static measurements are even meaningful. If they don’t sell many hitch mounts with a 9 inch drop, it makes me feel like that’s not the correct calculation. Or there’s something else that needs to be added to the calculation to allow some amount of sag to the rear end of your truck.

Thanks for any help.

Jim

Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to the forum. It would help if you tell us which wdh you have. Since you have a 3/4 ton and they had a 1/2 ton you might need to buy a new shank.

Sent from my SM-P610 using Tapatalk
    Steph & Lise
    2019 F150 Lariat 2.7 EB
    2020 Imagine XLS 22MLE

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NewGuy View Post
    Hi everybody. I’m totally new to the world of RVing and all things towing. I recently purchased a 2018 Imagine 2970RL and will be pulling with a Ram 2500.