User Tag List

Thread: Flat Spings

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Flat Spings

I took my 2017 Solitude 310 GK in for some service and have had the dealer fix/adust/repair the brakes and repack the wheel bearings. When they had the RV lifted up they reported that I have springs that have flattened. Not broken, but flattened. And, in fact, there was evidence that the tires had bumped up against/hit the underside of the RV.

The service manager will try to file a claim to at least get the cost of the springs covered. He strongly believes the springs are defective and believes that Dexter or Lippert (He was not sure which company made these springs.) had a significant quality problem a few years ago, and that the problem covered a significant period of time.

I have many years of experience in auto and truck manufacturing and plan to get the springs back so I can get some analysis done....

For that reason I wanted to post this and find out of other Grand Design owners have experienced the same issue. My Solitude was built in October 2016.

Your feedback and input are welcome!!

David J.
    New RVers
    2016 Ford F-250 SRW
    2017 Solitude 310GK

Mentioned
    83 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Common problem whether Grand Design, Forest River, Jayco... No need to waste your time and money on analyses. All trailer springs are made overseas. Even if there's a specification and required quality control, they will put whatever on the certs. I speak with first-hand experience with overseas production. Second, this industry is not as sophisticated as the automotive. If it were, dynamic analyses would be performed, and other factors analyzed like when these high center of gravity boxes lean on turns and the hammering from lousy roads. Many of us go up one increment of available weight capacity when replacing. While you are having it done, install a heavy duty shackle kit and reinforce the spring hangers.