Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Understanding my solar numbers?

We usually drycamp in Upstate NY. I installed 3 X 100 Renogy panels mounted on the roof of my 2800bh, and a 30 amp Rover MPPT controller with 2 6V Deka batteries and a 3100w Champion generator. As we are often in shaded sites I have my panels wired parallel.
    I am a relatively novice at solar and I really don't want to know any more than I have to but I'm curious about some of my numbers.
    I ran 10 gauge wire from the roof to the controller in my pass through with a 30 amp breaker on both the solar and battery line. I believe I'm getting decent power from my setup as I've seen up to 260 watts on my panels while sitting in my driveway in full sun. I'm satisfied with the setup as it helps to lessen my my dependence on the generator.

My confusion is the numbers for my battery. I see where people claim that their batteries may have reached 100% by noon (or some other random time) with their solar. If I'm in full sun, my controller will indicate 13.8v and 100% at 8:00am. Now I know my battery isn't at 100% at 8:00 so I'm assuming it's reading the voltage as it actually exists through the solar and/or generator and not the true battery voltage. By the end of the day, when my batteries are in float mode, if I turn off my solar, my batteries will drop from 13.5 (+-) and 100% to 12.7 (+-) and 78%(+-).

I think everything's working as it should but is 12.7 or 12.8 my 100%? Right now, I'm assuming that when my controller goes into float mode that I'm at 100% but it's really 78%?
    Norb
    Upstate NY
    2020 Imagine 2800BH
    2013 Keystone Bullet 23BHS
    2015 Sportcraft AR-ONE 25BH

Long Hauler
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Nrbsrsr View Post