User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

About to pull the trigger

Newbie here making my first post. I stumbled across this forum a few hours and been reading posts for the last few hours. Finally, I decided to ask my question...

So... my wife and I (along with our 7-year old) are about to pull the trigger and move to full time RVing. It started as kind of a "dream" about 6 months ago, but the more we research, the more ready we are. So here's my situation and question:

We definitely have decided on a fifth wheel, and in all our research (along with walking through a ton), we've landed on Grand Design Solitude 380FL. Once my wife saw that bathroom, nothing else was good enough. We're probably going to buy a used one (2020 seems like a sweet spot) and then spend some time and money renovating it to meet our needs.

My concern is this. That bad boy seems REALLY close to it's GVWR empty. There's less than 2,000 pounds between it's dry weight and it's max weight. Am I just overthinking this? I don't know what things weigh, but I'm thinking 30 gallons of water is 250lbs, a generator can't be light, I have probably 100-150 pounds of music gear that's coming along, bikes, clothes, etc.

Just a little more background, we'll be staying at RV parks with full hookups 90% + of the time, so I'm not worried about loading up for long boondocking trips. I plan on moving every 1-2 months. Life's a marathon not a sprint, and that's one of the things that's attracting us to this lifestyle. Also, as for a truck, when enough people told me to get an F450, I stopped looking and that's what will be pulling this.

My only last concern is this weight issue.

Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, and you'll definitely be seeing me around.

Mentioned
    83 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)