User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

RV novice travel planning

I am new to the world of RVing. Got a Reflections 337RLS from a family member. I have done a lot of reading on the web, but there are three specific questions I have not really gotten answers to.

I am not unexperienced at puling trailers. I have more than 50k miles pulling boats. My most recent rig was a 30’ LOA, 11,000# fully loaded Amberjack on a tri-axle. It was pulled with a ¾ ton gasser. This rig was pulled to three specific places, the furthest 1000+/- miles away from home. I knew the routes like the back of my hand, new every gas station it was easy to maneuver in and out of and every rest stop along the way. It was the usual plan to do the 1000 mile run in 24 hours. Leaving at around mid day Friday, drive until about 9pm, pull into a truck parking area at a rest stop, sleeping in the boat for several hours, leaving in the middle of the night and completing the run. Arriving mid-day Saturday. However, I can see by all the RVing advice out there that this is not going to work with an RV. With the boat, it was simple, start the Honda inverter, start the A/C and go to sleep. With an RV there is more setup and time needed to get a few hours rest.

My new truck is an F350 Diesel. My first Diesel. So this too has added a new thing to learn. So, here are my questions:

1) When refueling, it is common or taboo to pull into the truck fueling pumps at truck stops? I see this as an easier option for refueling a diesel than pulling a 35’ trailer into the regular auto pumps.