User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

337rls Suburban furnace propane smell

Used our furnace for the first time this week and we have a propane smell only while its running. When it’s off no gas smell so I have to assume it’s leaking past the valve or the valve itself. Have a appointment to drop off at the dealership later but it’s a long haul and we are doing some winter camping so who knows how long it take.
    Has anyone pulled the furnace out of a 337rls? Looks like a pretty simple job. I have some HVAC background so crawling around in the basement looks like the hardest part. Any advice will be appreciated.
    Randy & Debbie

2021 Ram 3500 SRW Limited
    2021 Reflection 337rls

Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the smell inside or outside of the RV? The combustion chamber is vented externally, so no propane or exhaust fumes should make it inside unless there is a cracked or defective combustion chamber. If you're smelling propane outside, I would definitely have it looked at (no need to remove the furnace to do this). Are you certain it's propane you're smelling? RV furnaces typically put off a pretty strong smell the first 5 - 10 times they're used. This is burning off dust, heating the paint, etc. This happens at the beginning of each season for us, too - on every RV we've ever owned.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,
    Sailun LRG tires, solar, DP windows, W/D
    (Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
    Full time since 08/2015

Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As @Second Chance says it's worth having your system checked out.