Likes Likes:  0
    Seasoned Camper
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Air Conditioning Seal Routine Check

I couldn't find where someone has posted it already so I thought I'd share what I do annually. This is the first time in my GD 303. I am not an expert and I always tell folks to do your own due diligence before doing something. I am, however, sensitive to leaking issues. For example, I recently re-caulked the slide seals that had separated on all 4 sides of the two main slides. So, back to topic. We have two ACs, both Atwood. They are both attached by a 1" or so seal pressed against the roof by 4 bolts accessible from inside the RV. These are prone to loosening either by RV travel or seal compression of a 85lbs (or so) AC. My main AC was just barely tighter than finger tight whereas, the BR AC was a good bit more tight (dealer installed). Same seals, same bolts (ish). I suspect most AC brands are similar to Atwood. My Cameo Carrier from 09 was similar. To access, remove the plastic plate inside. In my case, there's 6 with two being under pop-out covers. I removed the 4, then using a razor knife (razorblade box-cutter), I popped out the covers and removed the other 2. Super easy. Then, I got a socket/driver the size of the 4 bolts.

Now, listen, they are not supposed to be super-tight at all! I've read all over the internet and most say "by feel". Atwood says not tighter than 4-6 ft pounds if I remember correctly. I try to do this when raining which I did today. First, I look for signs of being wet around the seal. All dry. Next I put the socket on and turn slowly. I determine what I'm comfortable, and in my case, one turn more which is still less than the BR AC. This part is important. I tighten each bolt a quarter turn at time for even pressure on the seal all the way around. Takes just a minute to cycle through the 4 to satisfaction.