User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie gonna try to repack bearings..Looking for Advice..

Hello. Newbie here and gonna try to repack my bearings on 2018 Reflection Fifth.

It has been mostly sitting in storage lot and used rarely from delivery in Nov of 2019, maybe 1000 miles, then towed to Las Vegas from Ohio in Summer 2021, maybe another 2000 miles. I would assume the mileage is ok but probably about timed out on bearing repack.

Can anyone tell me how I can tell if this is a ez lube bearing before I get into removing tire etc?

Thanks

OhioRV

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check out this video and I think you can identify if you have Dexter EZ Lube system:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XT0RKDGgDm8

Now, you will get a lot of opinions on actually lubricating your bearings using the system. Personally I would never randomly push grease into my hubs. Too much chance of pushing grease out the rear seal, damaging it as well as getting grease on the brake pads. I trust the old method of removing the wheels and inspecting the bearings, or completely removing all bearings, cleaning, and re-packing by hand.
    2020 Reflection 273MK

Long Hauler
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    EZ Lube hubs have a rubber boot/plug/cover at the end of the axle, and behind that is a grease zerk. If you're going to repack then you can ignore them. If this is the first time doing this, pay very close attention when you put everything back together and set the clearance in the axle bearings. Many people will refer to it as "preload", but strictly speaking, it is clearance, not preload. Too tight and the bearings will overheat and fail, too loose and the bearings will not support the wheel correctly and fail.

It isn't hard, but the setting has to be correct. Done correctly you should be good for several years, depending on actual mileage driven.
    Howard and Peggy