User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wet bolt install question

I need to replace rearmost wet bolt on my heavy tandem axle trailer. What is the best way to unload the suspension?

Do I have to take both wheels off and put the frame on jack stands making the rig level? Or can I leave the front axle wheel on and just put a jack stand under the frame at the rear?

If both wheels are off, do I need to jack up both axles a little to make them level, or just the rear?

How can I determine that there is no pressure on the spring hanger before I press out the old bolt?

If I need to replace the bushing, are there any tricks to keeping the spring aligned with the hanger for reinstall?

I’m a newbie when it comes to suspension work but am willing to give it a try based on long lead time and questionable quality at the dealership.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2021 Reflection 312 BHTS, Silverado 2500 Duramax

Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by FlyStar View Post
    I need to replace rearmost wet bolt on my heavy tandem axle trailer. What is the best way to unload the suspension?

snip

Thanks in advance for the advice.

i replied to your personal message but it was early this morning and I hadn't had my coffee yet.

RV up, frame supported on jack stands. Both wheels off is best and floor jacks under both axles at the U bolts. You don't want the equalizer between the axles to move as you jack on the axle you are working on. If the equalizer or its shackle moves forward or aft as you disconnect a spring and let it down you'll have a time getting the spring eye lined back up in the frame hanger hole.