User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Battery Disconnect wired correct?

I am an ASE Certified master mechanic close to retirement so electrical issues are no problem for me. I just pulled our "NEW" 303RLS out of RV bay to ready for the season and my 12 volt battery was dead. I thought I hit the disconnect when stored so I charged the battery and load tested it thinking it was defective. It load tested fine. After a few minutes of testing I discover the disconnect is not wired to shut off all electrical from the 12v battery. It is only killing one circuit breaker that is separate from the common buss. This is our 3rd RV and on our others when the disconnect is off there is no battery power to anything which make sense. Was not sure if this is correct so I call the dealer and get NO tech help but they would be glad to "put it on the schedule" for inspection/repair and I would have to leave it a few days. 60 miles round trip on a busy interstate, twice, with diesel prices;NOPE! Warranty covered or not if this is not correct I can take care of it.
    So here is the question; Has any other GD owners noticed this condition of the disconnect not wired to shut off everything and would there be a reason for it to be connected that way? Also wondering if anyone has acquired a wiring schematic for a 2022 303RLS?
    Last edited by 2dogs3; 05-14-2022 at 06:16 PM.

Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, 99% are wired like that where the battery disconnect doesn’t disconnect everything. My battery on my 337 won’t make it a week with the disconnect switch turned off. Propane leak detector, level controller etc remain connected.

Most of us just wire a real disconnect at the battery. I used a marine battery disconnect switch.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails C9F7590A-8577-4C49-A3D1-075F1F72CABE.jpeg  
    Jerry & Linda
    Emma & Abby our Mini Golden Doodles & JR our Amazon Parrot