Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Questions on: generator use, storage and extra propane/gas storage, and bumper carry

I am new to having "my own" RV. I am planning on full timing for 4-6 months maybe a bit longer. I'll be using a GD 2150RB.

I am wanting the ability to do some boondocking* and "I am AC dependent", i.e. I cant sleep at any higher temp than about 70 deg, and I'll have a dog so in general I need to have a temp of about 75 or below.

I've been looking at generators, a lot. I can't afford the Hondas but Generac and WEN seem to have good price to value ratio.
    The one I think I'm most interested in, is the WEN 56235i 2350-Watt (1900 continuous) Portable Inverter Generator, its 39 lbs, and has 2 "regular" AC outlets.

I am considering carrying it on a Stromberg Carlson Trailer Tray A-Frame Cargo Carrier, or carrying an extra gas can and/or propane tank on it. Additionally, I was considering a rear bumper carrier for fuel/propane and two bikes. I think the bumper is rated to 150#. I was thinking a gas can or two and/or propane on a 4" bumper mount carrier on one side of the spare as close to center as possible and the bikes on the other side.

So questions are:
    1. Is the Carlson Carrier a good idea? I'm trying to avoid fuel storage inside the passthrough.
    2. What would be better on the Carlson carrier, generator or fuels?
    3. Is the bumper carrier a good idea?
    4. What would be better on the bumper carrier, generator or fuels?
    5. Is it possible to have the generator draw gas supply from a fuel can the same way you can with a job site generator used for home power loss emergencies?
    6. Am I correct in understanding you can connect a "standard" 120 VAC outlet to the shore power receptacle of the trailer by using a heavy duty ext cord and a dog bone adapter?