User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    notnsuv
    Guest

    Plugging in at Home

    I have 100A service to my shop but only the standard 3-prong outlets. Can I adapt 50A RV plug down to use these for power or do I need to install a 50A outlet.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Rolling Along
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    539
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just get a 50 to 30 adapter and use a 20A adapter with that. That's how I hook up my 2000W Honda generator.
    Nick and Nancy
    Abbotsford BC
    2011 Ram 3500
    2015 Reflection 303RLs

  3. #3
    Site Sponsor thompsons 369rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Gig Harbor, Wa
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by notsosan View Post
    Just get a 50 to 30 adapter and use a 20A adapter with that. That's how I hook up my 2000W Honda generator.
    Or you could just get one of these and eliminate lugging out the 50 amp cord and 2 other adaptors.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o01_s00
    Andy & Julie
    Gig Harbor, Wa
    2014 Solitude 369RL S/N 104
    2012 F350 SWR 4x4 CC 6.7 Diesel

  4. #4
    Rolling Along
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    539
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thompsons 369rl View Post
    Or you could just get one of these and eliminate lugging out the 50 amp cord and 2 other adaptors.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o01_s00

    I use one of these http://www.amazon.com/Conntek-14381-...amp+RV+adapter

    with one of these http://www.amazon.com/Conntek-14101-...15+amp+adapter

    They do double duty. I also carry a 30 amp cord that I use for one nighters. Much easier than dragging out the 50 amp cord for an over night stop. It can also be used as an extension if my 50 amp cord isn't long enough but I am limited to 30 amps in that case.

    I also carry one of these in case there is only 50A available but I just want to use the 30 amp cable.

    http://www.amazon.com/Voltec-16-0057...30+amp+adapter
    Nick and Nancy
    Abbotsford BC
    2011 Ram 3500
    2015 Reflection 303RLs

  5. #5
    Seasoned Camper Sirsea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Walkertown, NC
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not difficult to add a 30a or 50a breaker to your elec panel if you have an open slot. For about $30 you can get an RV outlet box from Home Depot or Lowe's and have enough power to run A/C, TV etc and use the camper for a guest room (or dog house) if needed.
    Marvin & Marion
    2016 Reflection 303RLS
    2008 Ram 2500HD

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #6
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi All....BRAND NEW Newbie here just got home with our new Reflection 295RL. All I have to plug into is a 20/15 AMP home circuit. Can I use a 50 AMP to 110V converter cable and just leave that plugged in to keep the batteries topped off? Never turn on the AC, etc....I just want to be able to level and hitch it up at this point. Can someone give me a answer? Thanks in Advance......'The Newbie".....

  7. #7
    Rolling Along
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    In the Blue Ridge Mtns of VA
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hobe320 View Post
    Hi All....BRAND NEW Newbie here just got home with our new Reflection 295RL. All I have to plug into is a 20/15 AMP home circuit. Can I use a 50 AMP to 110V converter cable and just leave that plugged in to keep the batteries topped off? Never turn on the AC, etc....I just want to be able to level and hitch it up at this point. Can someone give me a answer? Thanks in Advance......'The Newbie".....
    See post #3 above.
    2022 Solitude 378MBS-R
    2021 Ford F450 CC Lariat Ultimate FX4
    1966 Shasta Astroflyte (1 year restoration project that is going on year 6)

  8. #8
    Seasoned Camper
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hobe320 View Post
    Hi All....BRAND NEW Newbie here just got home with our new Reflection 295RL. All I have to plug into is a 20/15 AMP home circuit. Can I use a 50 AMP to 110V converter cable and just leave that plugged in to keep the batteries topped off? Never turn on the AC, etc....I just want to be able to level and hitch it up at this point. Can someone give me a answer? Thanks in Advance......'The Newbie".....
    15A will run one AC and charge the batteries. Just did it to stress test the new AC.
    2021 Imagine 2600RB + 2022 Duramax Tahoe RST (previous 2017 MBZ GLS450 burnt to the ground, resulting in destroyed garage and house contents a total loss due to smoke damage)

  9. #9
    Fireside Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dbphillips View Post
    15A will run one AC and charge the batteries. Just did it to stress test the new AC.
    Thank you...just the answer I was looking for.....

  10. #10
    Setting Up Camp
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dbphillips View Post
    15A will run one AC and charge the batteries. Just did it to stress test the new AC.
    Hi,
    I have a 2018 Imagine 2800BH that we got about 3 months ago in January. I've had it plugged in at home with the long cord coming out of the RV to the surge protector to the 30 to 15 amp dogbone to a 15 amp home outlet. The battery shows the 3rd light at 2/3 charge at home, but 100% on a 30amp at a campground. At home, the outlets don't work, but they do on the 30amp at the campground. Haven't tested the A/C at home (it's covered due to trees).
    I don't really have a problem. Just curious if this is by design that the outlets don't work and the battery doesn't show a full charge when using a 15amp connection?

    Thanks !!
    -Steve

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Just returned home from the Dealership
    By pnbarton in forum Welcome Mat | New Member Introductions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-08-2015, 09:39 AM
  2. Great group & Made it Home
    By WhittleBurner in forum Grand Design Group Camp Outs and Rallies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2014, 07:05 PM
  3. Home for the next 6 days..
    By Gsport in forum Campgrounds, Destinations and RV Trip Planning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2014, 11:22 AM
  4. Just brought home our new Reflection 303RLS!
    By Cate&Rob in forum Welcome Mat | New Member Introductions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-17-2014, 05:54 AM
  5. New home on wheels
    By Eaglehead in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-16-2014, 04:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

DISCLAIMER:This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Grand Design RV, LLC or any of its affiliates. This is an independent site.