User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

GE 12 Volt Fridge Freezing up

Hello Newbie here, My wife and I purchased a 2022 Imagine 2400BH this year and love it. The issue we are having is the fridge is freezing up at the back wall and freezing all of our fruits and veggies. The ice build up is pretty bad after a weekend trip it can get 3/4 inch thick. I have tried lowering the temp but that doesn't help ice still forms. Wondering if this is normal (I hope not) and if anyone has had this issue and has resolved it. Any help is much appreciated.

Rolling Along
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Suggest the dollar bill test on the door seal. Slide the George W behind the door gasket. It should not be easy to slide about. If it is then moist air may be invading your fridge and the water might be freezing. I put some electrical tape on my fridge to help close the gap. Just my 2 cents.
    2021 Reflection 312 BHTS, Silverado 2500 Duramax

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey NG101, same here.... shouldn't be normal.

I have been told by the dealer that if you "over pack it", it doesn't work well and could develop ice in the back, doesn't explain freezing food but hey, what do I know. No matter what we did with the thermostat, either frozen food in the refer or melted ice cream.

Last trip in, the dealer found the back of the refrig had been damaged prior to install so the fan wasn't working, the compressor ran all the time. It ran so much the last tech who found the issue said he also found burned and melted parts in the back

Good news, a new fridge arrived yesterday at the dealer......................... freight damaged it with a fork lift. Back in line waiting on another unit

Going camping for 2 weeks tomorrow and will be working out of a cooler, not ideal but working remote is better than working from home

Good luck
    Rick